Skip to main content

Inaugural members were appointed by the Minister for Health in June 2018 for a period of six years.

This allows the same Board to establish statewide procedures prior to commencing in June 2019 and review the operation of the law after five years.

Julian Gardner AM, Chairperson    

Lawyer, Adjudication Panel Member, Australian Press Council

Charles Corke

Intensive Care Specialist, Barwon Health

Margaret Bird 

Executive Clinical Director Ambulatory Services, Eastern Health

Molly Carlile AM

Leader and specialist in palliative care, recently Chief Executive Officer of metropolitan community palliative care service and previously a senior executive and advanced practice clinician

 Mitchell Chipman

Oncologist and Palliative Care Physician, Victorian Breast and Oncology Care

John Clements

Consumer representative

Sally Cockburn

General Practitioner, Broadcaster
James Howe Consultant Neurologist

Margaret O’Connor AM

Emeritus Professor of Nursing, Monash University, Clinical Research Consultant, Melbourne City Mission Palliative Care

Nirasha Parsotam

Head of Health Innovation program, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute, Victoria and Collaborative Director / Faculty, Institute of Healthcare Improvement, Asia Pacific

Paula Shelton Special Counsel, Adviceline Injury Lawyers


Get in touch

Voluntary Assisted Dying Review Board

Page last updated: 09 Aug 2022

Was this content helpful to you?