Skip to main content

The Mental health learning health network (LHN) brings together a diverse group of mental healthcare clinical and non-clinical workers, individuals with lived experience (consumers and carers/family), leaders, academics, researchers, and data experts to create sustainable improvements to the Victorian mental health system. This is being done in response to the Royal Health Commission’s recommendations to improve the quality of mental health care.

Improvements will be bolstered by the LHN’s focus on leadership, workforce development, partnering with lived experience and capability building. 

An expert Mental health advisory group and a data group have been set up to support the direction and ongoing operation of the Mental health LHN. These groups comprise clinical, carer/family, consumer, research and healthcare leaders within the mental health sector. 

The LHN interfaces with the mental health sector to ensure a continuous cycle of learning, sharing, spread and scale of system improvements. Information is disseminated via the Mental health improvement program website, forums, an improvement conversation webinar series, specific training opportunities, and communities of practice. 

The LHN prioritises the voice of consumers and carers/family/supporters to drive the  planning and implementation of improvement efforts. As part of a co-design process, we continue to partner with consumers and carers to incorporate their expertise at every stage. Increasingly, targeted engagement and communication across all stages of the consumer and carer recovery journey will support a proactive, person-centred system approach. 


To develop a mental health learning health network.


The inclusion of public mental health services, communities, sector, etc.


Launched December 2022.


Alfred Health, Austin Health, Eastern Health, Melbourne Health, Mercy Public Hospitals, Monash Health, Northern Health, Peninsula Health, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, The Royal Children's Hospital, Western Health, Albury Wodonga Health, Alexandra District Hospital, Alpine Health, Bairnsdale Regional Health Service, Ballarat Health Service, Barwon Health, Bass Coast Health, Beaufort and Skipton Health Service, Beechworth Health Service, Benalla Health, Bendigo Health Care Group, Boort District Health, Casterton Memorial Hospital, Central Gippsland Health Service, Central Highlands Rural Health, Cohuna District Hospital, Colac Area Health, Corryong Health, Dhelkaya Health, East Grampians Health Service, East Wimmera Health Service, Echuca Regional Health, Gippsland Southern Health Service, Goulburn Valley Health, Grampians Health, Great Ocean Road Health, Heathcote Health, Hesse Rural Health Service, Heywood Rural Health, Inglewood and Districts Health Service, Kerang District Health, Kilmore District Health, Kooweerup Regional Health Service, Kyabram and District Health Service, Latrobe Regional Hospital, Maryborough District Health Service, Mildura Base Public Hospital, Moyne Health Services, NCN Health, Northeast Health Wangaratta, Omeo District Health, Orbost Regional Health, Portland District Health, Robinvale District Health Services, Rochester and Elmore District Health Service, Rural Northwest Health, Seymour Health, South Gippsland Hospital, South West Healthcare, Swan Hill District Health, Tallangatta Health Service, Terang and Mortlake Health Service, Timboon and District Healthcare Service, West Gippsland Healthcare Group, West Wimmera Health Service, St Vincent's Health, Forensicare, Midwest Health, Western District Health Service, Yarram and District Health Service, Yarrawonga Health, Yea and District Memorial Hospital


Page last updated: 27 Mar 2023

Was this content helpful to you?